The constitution, rules, regulations and bye laws of the association was formulated and drafted by a committee under thechairmanship of Prof. S.C. Malik. Dr. S.C. Tiwari was nominated as Founder President, Dr. K.S Shaji as Vice President, Dr. Venu Gopal Jhanwar as its Secretary, Dr. Rajesh Nagpal as a Joint Secretary, Dr. Sanjay Gupta as the editor of official journal of Indian Association for Geriatric Mental Health and Dr. S.P. Gupta as treasurer. The Association was registered under Societies Registration Act 1860 (Registration No. 268/04-05).

Dr. S C Tiwari (Lucknow) was the founder President, followed by Dr. K.S.Shaji (Trissur) and currently the President is Dr. Charles Pinto (Mumbai). The society also boasts of an active executive committee with representation from all over the country.